Databases

  • Handbooks

    Provides clinicians and students quick information and targeted, evidence-based medical content on diseases, conditions, drugs, and more at the point-of-care.

    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Audio, Video & Images
    Provides streaming video access to the 60 Minutes news show archive for the third and fourth decades of this long-running show, plus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning. Includes transcripts of the videos for ease of citation, and a citation export feature. Topics include international and national news, politics, women's studies, society and culture, and more.
    Dates of Coverage: 1997 - 2014
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles
    Collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
    Full Text: Some
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Newspapers, Primary Sources
    Provides archived historical information, including Godey's Lady's Book: Parts I-III, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, and African American Newspapers: The 19th Century.
    Dates of Coverage: Varies
    Full Text: Some
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Encyclopedias
    A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes a science dictionary, an "In the News" section, and several features for undergraduate students: basic tables, study guides, and brief scientific biographies. Mac Users - Use Safari with this database. There have been access problems with Internet Explorer.
    Full Text: All
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Ebooks
    Digital collection of ebooks in the humanities and related social sciences. Books in the HEB collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
    Full Text: All
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles
    Full text of all Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings. Includes bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full text for articles along with selected works published by affiliated organizations.
    Dates of Coverage: 1947 - present
    Full Text: All
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles, Primary Sources
    Full text searching and instant access to all titles, volumes, issues, and articles published by the American Chemical Society (ACS). The Archives enables researchers to understand historical discoveries that led to modern chemistry and influenced such fields as biology, physics, medicine, agriculture, and engineering.
    Dates of Coverage: 1800s - present
    Full Text: All
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Newspapers, Primary Sources
    Full-text/full-image pages containing early biographies, vital statistics, editorials and advertisements. Includes Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder.
    Dates of Coverage: 1827-1870
    Full Text: Some
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles, Dissertations & Theses

    Primary information sources in agriculture and related fields and includes citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.

    Dates of Coverage: 1970 - present
    Full Text: Some
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles
    Provides abstracts and citations to material in the agricultural and environmental sciences; includes scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Includes AGRICOLA and TOXLINE.
    Dates of Coverage: 1960 - present
    Full Text: Some
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles
    This United Nations database is produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization and indexes international agricultural publications. AGRIS complements AGRICOLA, but is more narrowly focused to food and nutrition. The multilingual database is free to all.
    Dates of Coverage: 1975 - present
    Full Text: None; abstracts only
    Access: Open Access
  • Articles, Ebooks
    Formerly known as the AGU Digital Library, the AGU - Wiley Online Library provides access to peer-reviewed scientific publications covering research in the Earth and space sciences.
    Full Text: Some
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Collections
    A source for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Reports findings presented at many of the most important scientific meetings around the world. Published proceedings are valuable as topical status reports providing quick access to information before it appears in the traditional journal literature.
    Dates of Coverage: 1970 - present
    Full Text: All
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles
    A subject index to significant articles, news items, book reviews, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals.
    Dates of Coverage: 1949 - present
    Full Text: Some
    Access: Open Access
  • Audio, Video & Images
    Provides academic streaming media across all disciplines.
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles
    Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. A comprehensive and up-to-date guide to alternative sources of information.
    Dates of Coverage: 1991 - present
    Full Text: None; abstracts only
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles
    Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Companion to the Alternative Press Index.
    Dates of Coverage: 1969 - 1991
    Full Text: None; abstracts only
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Newspapers, Primary Sources
    Comprehensive digital archive that includes titles from all 50 states. Our subscription currently includes Series 1, 1690-1876, Series 2, 1758-1900, and Series 3, 1829-1922.
    Dates of Coverage: 1690 - 1922
    Full Text: All
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles, Dissertations & Theses
    Index to sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations.
    Dates of Coverage: 1955 - present
    Full Text: Some
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Collections, Primary Sources
    New England Historic Genealogical Society website, providing access to genealogical records spanning the US and beyond, including collections of early American records, and the largest searchable collection of published genealogical research journals and magazines. Content includes English, New England (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont), New York, Pennsylvania, and Virginia materials. Note: this resource is accessible only on workstations in Dimond Library; there is no wireless access.
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Collections
    Presents over 500 titles. The content is available through EBSCO's Historical Digital Archive Viewer, which combines the experience of browsing and reading original sources with the convenience of keyword access, a variety of page views, note-taking capabilities, and numerous downloading options.
    Dates of Coverage: 1691 - 1820
    Full Text: All
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Collections
    Presents over 1000 titles. The subject matter is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.
    Dates of Coverage: 1821 - 1837
    Full Text: All
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Ebooks
    This state-by-state collection of folk songs describes the history, society, culture, and events characteristic of all fifty states.It focuses on songs concerning the life and times of the people of each state. The topics range from the major historical events, such as the Boston Tea Party, the attack on Fort Sumter, and the California Gold Rush, to regionally important events such as disasters and murders, labor problems, occupational songs, ethnic conflicts.
    Full Text: All
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Audio, Video & Images
    Collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. Allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
    Dates of Coverage: 1600s to present
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Ebooks, Encyclopedias
    Respected biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological, and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birth date & place, field of specialty, education, professional and career information, awards, research information, addresses where available, and more.
    Dates of Coverage: 22nd ed. (2005) - present
    Full Text: All
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Encyclopedias
    Profiles of more than 18,700 deceased men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the US. Search or browse by name or use Advanced Search (Search tab) to find people by occupation/realm of renown, gender, birth and/or death date, birthplace, and more. All the articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates, but coverage of people in this category is not yet complete. If you cannot find an article on a subject, he or she may have died after 1995, or may be living.
    Dates of Coverage: 1600s - present
    Full Text: All
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles
    The Society's journals cover the spectrum of microbiology, including coverage of both basic and clinical microbiology.
    Full Text: All
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • US Federal
    Contains the legislative and executive documents of the first 14 US Congresses (about 6,300 documents). Arranged in ten subject such as Foreign Relations and Military Affairs and with full-text search capability, this is a rich resource in primary documents on wide-ranging aspects of early American history.
    Dates of Coverage: 1789 - 1838
    Full Text: All
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Encyclopedias
    Explains how mobilization for war and how wars themselves have altered the fabric of everyday life. This encyclopedia places major American conflicts -- from the Colonial Wars through the War on Terrorism -- in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the homefront. Articles include biographies and topics such as civil liberties, media, politics, popular culture, religion, memory and national identity, civic celebrations and monumental art, the roles of women and minorities, veterans, and more.
    Dates of Coverage: 1500 - present
    Full Text: All
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles
    Produced by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Offers comprehensive coverage of analytical chemistry information, allowing searching of analytes, matrices and by concept (techniques, physico-chemical parameters, instruments, etc.). Accessible via Analytical WebBase, this offers indexing of 230 journals, with full coverage of 50 journals, as well as selected books and other information.
    Dates of Coverage: 1978 - present
    Full Text: None; abstracts only
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Primary Sources
    Genealogical research database providing information on more than 1 billion names and 3000 databases. Includes selected census records, birth, marriage and death, military, probate, and immigration and naturalization records as well as some genealogical newspapers and periodicals. Also included are guides to starting genealogical research and compiling a family history.
    Dates of Coverage: 1680 - present
    Full Text: All
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Covers a wide array of subjects, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology, and epigraphy.
    Dates of Coverage: Classical era
    Full Text: None; abstracts only
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles
    Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical review articles written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
    Dates of Coverage: 2001 - present
    Full Text: All
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Annual reports for many public companies. Search for a company alphabetically, by company name, by ticker symbol, by sector, or by industry.
    Dates of Coverage: Current Year
  • Articles
    Indexes articles, reports, commentaries, and obituaries found in hundreds of journals and monographic series. International coverage includes social and cultural anthropology, Old and New World archaeology, physical anthropology and anthropological aspects of related subjects.
    Dates of Coverage: 19th century - present
    Full Text: Some
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Audio, Video & Images, Primary Sources
    Offers comprehensive, multimedia resources for the study of anthropology, including the largest collection of ethnographic videos and previously unpublished archival field materials.
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Ebooks, Handbooks
    Features descriptions of many techniques that psychologists and others have developed to help them pursue a shared understanding of why humans think, feel, and behave the way they do.
    Full Text: All
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles, Ebooks

    Includes chapters in PDF from books published by the APA and other distinguished publishers, and includes digitized content of historical significance from the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) collection. It also contains classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and the exclusive electronic release of authored entries from APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.

    Dates of Coverage: 1600s - present
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles

    A repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. An authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century. Also provides access to an increasing number of tests that are available in languages other than English.

    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles
    Articles from both trade and professional society journals, in applied science and technology; including aeronautics; applied, optical, and neural computing; applied mathematics; artificial intelligence; atmospheric sciences; construction; energy resources; food science; information technology; marine and space technology, robotics, and several engineering areas, including automotive, biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, environmental, industrial, and mechanical.
    Dates of Coverage: 1983 - present
    Full Text: Some
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles, Technical Reports
    Premier reference in the field of aquatic resources including serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations, and limited distribution literature. Includes: Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources, Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 2: Ocean Technology, Policy & Non-Living Resources, Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality, Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Aquaculture Abstracts, Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Marine Biotechnology Abstracts, and Oceanic Abstracts.
    Dates of Coverage: 1971 - present
    Full Text: None; abstracts only
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles
    Provides extensive coverage of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms for scientists involved in the cooperative management of the world's living aquatic resources. All aspects of marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including information on biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources and related legal, policy and socioeconomic issues.
    Dates of Coverage: 1971 - present
    Full Text: None; abstracts only
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles, Technical Reports
    This subset of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts database concentrates on non-biologic scientific topics, such as physical oceanography and limnology, marine meteorology and climatology, geochemistry, marine geology and geophysics. In addition, it covers various types of marine technology used in both research and commerce. Finally, it deals with marine law and policy and with economics and commerce.
    Dates of Coverage: 1971 - present
    Full Text: None; abstracts only
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles, Technical Reports
    Provides access to abstracts covering research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers and estuaries.
    Dates of Coverage: 1990 - present
    Full Text: None; abstracts only
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles, Technical Reports
    Provides aquaculture-related information on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields. The records included provide comprehensive information on cultivating marine, freshwater and brackish water species.
    Dates of Coverage: 1984 - present
    Full Text: None; abstracts only
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles, Technical Reports
    Provides information on findings from investigations on increased production of seafood, in the development of new therapeutic drugs, in the engineering of microbes that digest and remove environmental and marine pollutants and in launching myriad ventures having immense economic benefit.
    Dates of Coverage: 1989 - present
    Full Text: None; abstracts only
    Access: Restricted to UNH users
  • Articles

    Major index for all areas of astronomy and astrophysics, covering the international research literature. Includes biographical and historical references to the field. Types of sources indexed include journals, proceedings, books and reports. Refers to abstracts published in its printed counterparts, Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts, 1969-2000, Astronomischer Jahresbericht, 1899-1968, and earlier bibliographies (see UNH Library Catalog for information on print holdings).

    Dates of Coverage: Ancient times - 2000
    Full Text: Some
    Access: Open Access
  • Statistics, Polls & Data Sets

    Reports salaries for professional positions in the Association of Research Libraries' member libraries. These data are used to determine whether salaries are competitive, equitable across institutions and personal characteristics, and keeping up with inflation. The survey also tracks minority representation in ARL US libraries and reports separate data for health sciences and law libraries.

    Dates of Coverage: 2005/2006 - present
    Access: Restricted to UNH users